SAUGATUCK TOWNSHIP BOARD SPECIAL JOINT MEETING WITH PLANNING COMMISSION

MONDAY, JANUARY 28, 2008, 5:30 P.M. SAUGATUCK TOWNSHIP HALL 3461 BLUE STAR HIGHWAY, SAUGATUCK, MICHIGAN 49453

MINUTES

Township Board members present: Clerk Jane Wright, Trustee Chris Roerig and Trustee Damien Jarzembowski.

Planning Commission members present: Chairman Jim Hanson, Bill Rowe, Larry Edris, Damien Jarzembowski, Steve Darpel, and Joe Milauckas (Absent: Sandra Rausch). Also present: Planner Mark Sisson, Aaron Sheridan, Dayle Harrison and Fritz Royce.

Trustee Roerig presented the reason for this meeting, that is, to show support of the Township Board for the Planning Commission in the issues surrounding Saugatuck LLC's actions and proposals, to consider what P.C. needs in the way of specialists that the Board can supply, to determine if joint meetings like this are helpful and how often they should be repeated, to consider the Cooperation Agreement and the Settlement Agreement, and to determine the status of R 3B with respect to critical dunes protection. He emphasized preparation, suggested brainstorming possibilities for strategies, forming a time line for next step.

Hanson said he would project a budget for dealing with Saugatuck LLC's plans. Roerig suggested requiring an escrow account of the applicant. He also proposed keeping the public up-to-date on the plans for the former Denison property before the P. C. acts. Jarzembowski said he thought there should be more than just the Township Supervisor in on joint meetings with Saugatuck LLC, perhaps including a P.C. member.

Discussion of status of Critical Dunes ordinance ensued, and Sisson suggested creating a "floating" Critical Dunes Ordinance which would apply to all residential areas. Edris said he thought Saugatuck LLC should be informed of this when it happens.

It was decided to plan monthly joint sessions before the Township Board meeting if there are matters to consider. The first potential joint session would be Wednesday, March 5, at 6:00 P.M.

Meeting adjourned at 6:53 P.M.

Betty A. White, Recording Secretary

Jane Wright, Clerk